MONIFIETH Golf Links is set to receive a lift with the announcement of a brand new central hub building for members and visitors alike to use before and after their round at the historic Angus courses.
The club, which owns the Medal and Ashludie courses, is purchasing the previously owned Broughty clubhouse.
This has become available after the merger of the Grange and Broughty Golf Clubs, a story we brought you in a previous edition.
A deal is now in place for the two-storey building and this will allow Monifieth to transform it into a hub which will contain a reception desk, golf shop, changing facilities and storage for their fleet of electric buggies.
"This is an ambitious move and a significant investment in the future of golf at Monifieth," said Colin Cairnie, chairman at Monifieth Golf Club.
"The acquisition of the building will allow us to provide a far better golfing experience for both members and visitors, and a modern working environment for staff.
"We currently utilise only around 60% of the courses' capacity and we believe the new building will help us attract more visitor income to the benefit of everyone who plays at Monifieth."
Monifieth has two courses, the Medal and Ashludie, which are funded by a local trust and are both excellent in their own right.
The principal course is the Medal, which is used as Open qualifying venue along with Montrose, Panmure and Downfield when the Open is played at nearby Carnoustie.
The courses are steeped in history, as Monifieth was formed in 1858, with the Medal course first being used for golf in 1845.
Unusually for a links course, many holes have tree-lined fairways but this is combined with old, gorse-covered dune ridges.
The Medal has a reputation for being a hard, unforgiving course, with the wind blowing in from the Firth of Tay and clever bunkering throughout, making Monifieth a real hidden gem.
Although golf membership has been in decline in Scotland in recent years, the clubs that play Monifieth have managed to remain stable.
As well as the new central hub, plans have been lodged to turn part of the building into a golfing heritage centre, relaying the historic nature of the courses.